Skip to Content

Announcing the 2014 Bell Picture Book Awards Winners!

Good morning! We are so excited to announce the first Bell Awards!

The winning titles are:


Open This Little Book, by Jesse Klausmeier, illustrated by Suzy Lee (San Francisco: Chronicle Books, 2013)

open the cover to discover five characters, each with their own little
book, all within the pages of the first. Open This Little Book
celebrates the pleasures of reading, sharing stories, and having a book
of your own.


The Things I Can Do, by Jeff Mack (New York: Roaring Brook Press, 2013)

text and exuberant collages illustrate this story of a boy who takes
great pride in his accomplishments. Reading skills and writing skills
develop together, and the format of The Things I Can Do invites children
to see themselves as authors as well as readers.


Nighty-Night, Cooper, by Laura Numeroff, illustrated by Lynn Munsinger (Boston: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, 2013)

small kangaroo requests song after song to help him fall asleep, and
his mother obliges by making up her own words to familiar tunes. Singing
songs together is a powerful way to build phonological awareness skills
and vocabulary, and Nighty-Night, Cooper models how a parent can use
songs to create a comforting bedtime routine with a child. 

Moo! by David LaRochelle, illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka (New York: Walker Books for Young Readers, 2013)

very vocal cow commandeers the farmer’s car and sets off on an
adventure. The entire story is told with just two words: Moo! and Baa!
The speech bubbles and the very limited vocabulary help children make
the critical connection between the words we say and the print on the

Niño Wrestles the World, by Yuyi Morales (New York: Roaring Brook Press, 2013)

takes on all the toys in his room with an amazing series of lucha libre
wrestling moves. When his sisters wake up from their nap, they
challenge him to a match, too! Who will be victorious? Niño Wrestles the
World joyfully demonstrates the language-rich, open-ended play that
contributes to a child’s narrative skills.   

An activity sheet with bibliographic information,
annotations, and ideas for extending the books is available for each
winning title at .
Thank you for your support this year,

the 2014 Selection Committee:
Shirley Anderson
Melissa Depper
Carol Edwards
Jaime Gotlieb
Rachel Hartman
Barbara Huff
Sarah Johnson
Mary Kuehner
Danica Midlil
Susan Oakes
Carol Wagstaff.

blog | about seo